Аppointment:
+7 (7172) 62-11-00
Reception:
+7 701 062 11 00
+7 747 511 60 00

NATIONAL CENTER FOR NEUROSURGERY

Drug-resistant form of epilepsy

Epilepsy is one of the most common diseases of the nervous system characterized by recurrent relatively stereotyped attacks. The incidence of epilepsy is on average of 5-10%. Epileptic seizures are caused by abnormal discharges in the brain and manifest by temporary disturbance of motor, sensory, autonomic, or cognitive functions.

Drug treatment of epilepsy is effective in 70-80 % of patients. The remaining 20-30 % of cases have a so -called drug-resistant form of epilepsy that is a form of the disease in which the severity and frequency of seizures, neurological and psychiatric symptoms and side effects of drugs can not be correctedsatisfactorilyand are unacceptable to the patient and (or) his family. In such cases, patients have a poor quality of life, increased morbidity and mortality. On the causes epilepsy is classified into "symptomatic" (when a structural defect of the brain, such as a cyst, tumor, hemorrhage, malformations can be found), idiopathic ( when there is a genetic predisposition, structural changes in the brain are absent), and cryptogenic (when the cause of the disease is not possibleto identify).

Symptoms

The manifestations of seizures vary from generalized seizures to subtle changes in the internal state of the patienthardly noticeable by surroundingpeople. There are distinguished isolated focal seizures associated with the occurrence of an electrical discharge in a certain limited area of ​​the cortex of the brain and generalized seizures in which the discharge simultaneously engages both hemispheres of the brain. In focal seizures may occur convulsions or peculiar sensations(such as numbness) in certain parts of the body (face, arms, legs etc.). Also, focal seizures may occur with short bouts of visual, auditory, olfactory or gustatory hallucinations. In these attacks consciousness may be kept, in such a case the patient describes sensationsin detail. The duration of partial seizures is usually not more than 30 seconds.

Methods of treatment

  •  Surgical treatment of drug-resistant forms of epilepsy

+7 (7172) 62-11-00
+7 701 062 11 00
+7 747 511 60 00

010000, Республика Казахстан г. Астана, проспект Туран 34/1

НАЦИОНАЛЬНЫЙ ЦЕНТР НЕЙРОХИРУРГИИ

Фармакорезистентная форма эпилепсии

Эпилепсия - это одно из самых распространенных заболеваний нервной системы, характеризующееся повторными относительно стереотипными припадками. Частота встречаемости эпилепсии составляет в среднем 5-10%. Эпилептические припадки обусловлены патологическими разрядами в головном мозге и проявляются временным нарушением двигательных, чувствительных, вегетативных или мыслительных функций.

Медикаментозное лечение эпилепсии оказывается эффективным у 70-80% больных. У остальных 20-30% наблюдений имеется так называемая фармакорезистетная форма эпилепсии, то есть такая форма заболевания, при которой тяжесть и частота приступов, неврологических и психических симптомов, побочные действия лекарств не поддаются удовлетворительной коррекциии для больного и (или) его близких. В таких случаях больные имеют низкое качество жизни, повышенную заболеваемость и смертность. По причине возникновения эпилепсию классифицируют на «симптоматическую» (когда можно обнаружить структурный дефект головного мозга, например, кисту, опухоль, кровоизлияние, пороки развития), идиопатическую (когда имеется наследственная предрасположенность и структурные изменения в мозге отсутствуют) и криптогенную (когда причину заболевания выявить не удается).

Симптомы

Проявления эпилептических припадков варьируют от генерализованных судорог до едва заметных окружающим людям изменений внутреннего состояния пациента. Выделяют очаговые приступы, связанные с возникновением электрического разряда в определенном ограниченном участке коры головного мозга и генерализованные приступы, при которых в разряд одновременно вовлекаются оба полушария мозга. При очаговых приступах могут наблюдаться судороги или своеобразные ощущения (например, онемение) в определенных частях тела (лице, руках, ногах и др.). Также очаговые приступы могут проявляться короткими приступами зрительных, слуховых, обонятельных или вкусовых галлюцинаций. Сознание при этих приступах может быть сохранено, в таком случае пациент детально описывает свои ощущения. Продолжительность парциальных приступов обычно не более 30 сек.